Sweet Potato Muffins

I stumbled upon this recipe reading pbfingers.com blogpost about What Dietitians Eat. I obviously was hooked on the post by just the title. You can read the blog post here.

The actual recipe is from theleangreenbean.com who is a registered Dietitian. I adapted the recipe slightly. These muffins  double as a dessert and a great pre/post work out snack.

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup sweet potato (cookInstructions:ed and mashed)

-1 ripe banana (the more brown spots, the sweeter the muffins will be)

-2 eggs

-1/4 cup peanut butter

-2 tsp of Pure Vanilla extract

-dash of cinnamon

-handful of pecans or your favorite nuts

-dark chocolate chips or chunks of your favorite dark chocolate bar

Instructions:

Mash the sweet potato and banana together. Add in the eggs, vanilla, cinnamon and peanut butter and mix well. Last add in the chocolate and pecans! Spoon the batter into lined mini muffin tins. Set your oven at 375° and bake for 20 minutes or until the edges are turning golden brown.

I don’t have a picture of the finished product (oops!), but here is the process!

sweetpotato muffin

I have been loving sweet potatoes lately and we had a banana on the verge of going black and mushy so I decided to give it a go and experiment.

IMG_0091

The ingredient list is so small, the muffins were very simple to make.

IMG_0093I make roasted sweet potatoes or other roasted vegetables fairly often so it was not difficult to throw in an extra sweet potato to use for these muffins. I did actually roast the potato a couple days before, which made the muffins even quicker to throw together.
IMG_0095

We didn’t actually have chocolate chips so I cut a dove dark chocolate and almond bars into shaving and sprinkled them into the batter. I may have had a few squares of the chocolate bar too…yum.

IMG_0096

I was a little wary as I popped them into the oven, but I had faith in ye old sweet potatoes.IMG_0097 IMG_0098

They came out of the oven and had puffed up and looked like real muffins. I was surprised in a good way.

IMG_0100

I mean come on there are only like 5 ingredients, these muffins practically make themselves. The muffins make a great post dinner sweet treat or snack throughout the day. They are Alyssa approved!

So give them a try and be ready to be pleasantly surprised!

~Alyssa

 

One thought on “Sweet Potato Muffins

Leave a comment