The Quest for the Crust: II

Hey Guys,

Sorry for the brief break, the semester is really picking up.  And the other day I was realizing that I have 2 internships, a full  class load, my Master’s Project and 2 part-time jobs! Well anyway with all this going on, it is still super important to have date night with my husband. As I mentioned previously (here), we are on the mission to find a delicious pizza crust recipe that we can make. So I will fill you in on our latest adventures.

We made pizza crust from QUINOA. Wait, let me repeat this, because we took Quinoa and made CRUST! I feel like it is something you just have to see to believe, so this my friends is how it went down…

crust

The recipe was actually pretty simple, all it took was a teeny bit of prep work. The base of the dough was soaked quinoa. So the night before I soaked the quinoa (aka placed quinoa in water). Then you just let the quinoa and blender do the rest of the work!

IMG_0391IMG_0393

Ingredients for Quinoa Pizza

Slightly Adapted from simplyquinoa.com
  • 3/4 cup quinoa, soaked for 6 – 8 hours (or overnight)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • clove of garlic
  • Basil and Oregano

Toppings

  • Whatever your heart desires. Ours: bacon, turkey pepperoni, peppers, cheese, and onion

IMG_0387

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425° and then line a 9” cake pin with parchment paper (I struggled with this part). Put a teaspoon of oil on the parchment to prevent sticking.
  2. Drain the quinoa that you soaked for 6-8 hours. Then add it to a blender with the rest of the ingredients.

IMG_0386 IMG_0385

  1. Pour into the cake pan. (It should be pancake batter consistency)
  2. Bake for 25 minutes, flipping after 15 minutes. The edges should be nice and golden brown.
  3. Top with sauce and toppings of your choice. We managed to fit a whole pound of bacon on a 9” pizza. Because we’re American. We also had turkey pepperoni, peppers, and onion, and CHEESE!
  4. Cook until cheese is bubbly, around 12 more minutes!

IMG_0394 IMG_0393

 

The Verdict

Overall Rating: Alyssa 4/5

I was pleasantly surprised with this crust. It is very simple and quick to prepare and it did not crumble (even with a pound of bacon pressing down on it…major feat). I also liked the few ingredients and healthy nature of the crust, which obviously allows you to put a million toppings on. My only caveat, the texture does not really resemble pizza crust it is more just breading. I wish it could be more flakey.

Chris: 4/5

“Because it held together, wasn’t super salty, and I’m thinking it can’t be a 5 on principle…because it’s got quinoa and it’s pizza.”

And so the search continues….until next date night!

~Alyssa

As always please let me know if you have a good pizza crust recipe, we are ready and willing to try anything.

 

One thought on “The Quest for the Crust: II

  1. Chris says:

    I’m liking the name “Quest for the Crust”

    Also, in fairness, I ate some pieces of bacon beforehand…so it was a little less than a pound on the pizza 🙂

Leave a Reply

