Faith Friday: Sincere Love

TGIF!! Woo this has been a crazy week filled with many ups and just a few downs! But hey Chris will be home all week next week and I am beyond excited to have someone to eat dinner with.

10419944_1525873714343674_4998752872942978492_n

 

Speaking of Chris, we signed up for an adoration hour this fall on Thursday nights. This hour of prayer, though late at night, has helped me to focus on the bigger picture and “not sweat the small stuff.” As part of my prayer time, I have been reading St. Maria Faustina’s diary.

the-diary-of-st.-faustina-audio-book25231xl

Last night I read a particular passage that really resonated with me.

“Help me, O Lord, that my heart may be merciful so that I myself may feel all the sufferings of my neighbor. I will refuse my heart to no one. I will be sincere even with those who, I know, will abuse my kindness. And I will lock myself up in the most merciful Heart of Jesus. I will bear my own suffering in silence. May Your mercy, O Lord, rest upon me.”

105fdivine2

This meant a lot to me because my internships this semester have me at a Weight loss clinic and a nursing home. As I approach counseling in both these different situations, I know that I do not bring perfection in the form of knowledge and that I do not have all the right answers. But I revel in the fact that I can be there, and listen, and love them. As I sit and listen to their stories, it is devastating to hear the unhappiness, stress, and business people are filling their lives with. There is so much hurt that has accumulated in their lives that they have directed toward their relationship with food. Like most things in life, there is not an easy fix or solution, but I’m glad I can offer something.

So I make a challenge to all you readers to wake up this morning and just love! Show love in your smallest of actions or in big gestures. Just love.

 

IMG_0082

Oh and eat some quinoa….it’s good for that big ole heart of yours.

~Alyssa

One thought on “Faith Friday: Sincere Love

Leave a Reply

