Gluten-Free Hamburger Buns

Hamburger BunsHello and Happy Monday to all of you! I hope you all had a refreshing weekend and at some point got out to enjoy this heat wave that is making January feel like spring. I have been out running again, and while I’m sooo out of shape, it feels good to be at it again!

So get ready, because I have a taste treat for you! And I have to tell you all that when I was making these hamburger buns I haven’t been so excited about a particular recipe for quite some time. As many of you know hamburgers are one of my all time favorite foods and I hadn’t realized how much I missed having an ultra deluxe cheeseburger with a gourmet bun until I indulged myself in one! These buns are made from cashews but actually have a really good flavor and did not crumble until the very end stage of my hamburger, which is quite impressive for a gluten-free bread product.

IMG_3110

The recipe is from the cookbook Against All Grain, but like everything cooked in my kitchen I had to make a few modifications. I do not have coconut oil or almond milk…so I always substitute with dairy products and I reduced the salt. Also I halved the recipe but feel free to double based on how many mouths you have to feed. Keep in mind I do love to eat these with just peanut butter and jelly if I have some left over! Yumm

DSCN0634

IMG_3111

 

Golden Cashew Hamburger Buns

Serves 2 – Slightly modified from Against All Grain

  • 3/4 cup raw cashews
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/8 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/8 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup coconut and almond flour (half and half)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
For the Golden Brown Egg topping
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp milk
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds

DSCN0629     DSCN0635

  1. Preheat the oven to 325°F and line a cookie pan with parchment paper.
  2. Process the raw cashews until they resemble a course flour, with some healthy cashew chunkage.
  3. Next add in the eggs, vinegar, milk, and melted butter. Blend until smooth.
  4.  Then add the dry ingredients, the flours salt and baking soda and blend again. The dough should be thickening up at this point.
  5. Drop the dough onto the parchment paper and form it with your hands into cute buns.
  6.  Whip together the egg yolk and milk. Then brush it on top of the shaped buns and sprinkle with sesame seed.
  7.  Bake for 25 minutes.

IMG_3114-1

 

IMG_3102

Enjoy!

Question of the Day: What is your favorite hamburger topping? Well besides the obvious cheese, mine would have to BBQ sauce, or really any type of sauce. I can not eat a dry cheeseburger.

Have a great week filled with lots of quinoa.

~Alyssa

7 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Hamburger Buns

    • faith, hope & quinoa says:

      Yes, if you like to live a life of extravagance you should definitely make these! They make the burger that much more enjoyable. And I like to make regular sandwiches with them too. And yes I hear you, avocados can pair with just about everything!

Leave a Reply

