WIAW: Gilmore Girls Finale

10917466_10152961552172593_4240024741114697743_nThis week has been full of adjusting to married life. The apartment seems a bit cramped with all the wedding presents, and yet so quiet because Chris is away on business for the next  2 weeks. Alas, we resume our long distance relationship. At least we are almost experts now, but it does not make it easier.

IMG_0072 IMG_0043

Anyhow, part of adjusting to married life means cooking for the new husband. Pre-marriage I did not eat a lot of meat, not for a particular reason, just partly due to laziness and partly due to it being hard to cook for one person. But now I have been told there “must be meat at dinner,” so I have been loving exploring some of the crazy ideas I have floating up in my brain.

IMG_0310

Some of the dinners we’ve enjoyed:

-Homemade gluten-free pizza with turkey pepperoni, green peppers, mozzarella and ricotta cheese

IMG_3091IMG_0322

-meatloaf (ok not so crazy) and homemade biscuits

-garlic turkey burgers with roasted sweet potatoes (again not so crazy)

-pork, curry, vegetable soup (AMAZING) I used the leftover pork from our wedding and it was so tender!

IMG_0314 IMG_0317

I have also been dying to make some recipes from the cookbook, Against All Grain. I actually got it last Christmas, but now that I have a little time I think I will finally try a few of the recipes I’ve been meaning too. First up: hamburger buns made with cashews….Idk how it works but I have faith in her.

While our menu is great and all, I will share a few of my eats with you from yesterday since it is WIAW after all! Full disclosure, my photographing skillz were not on par this week!

photo 2

Oatmeal is back in my life and I am so happy about that! I enjoyed a hot steamy bowl after a CSI (cardio strength intervals) that kicked my butt.

Then I had a taco salad for lunch. (unpictured but still delicious)

The star of my day was getting a gingerbread latte and finally watching the finale of Gilmore Girls. Oh my goodness I was bawling my eyes out. And now I have nothing else to look forward to in my life because my daily source of entertainment is now finished. I’m gonna miss those Gilmores.

Then I made a concoction for dinner. It was a 7-layer pasta dish that I then mashed all together into a delicious mess of meal. I layered brown rice pasta, then ricotta cheese, then roasted mushrooms and cauliflower, then spaghetti sauce, then mozzarella cheese, and topped with some diced pepperoni (for some flare). Uff-da that is a lot to jam into one bowl (ok it is a pretty huge bowl).

IMG_3094

Sorry about this picture. I had a much better picture of it all layered, before I mixed it together but they some how got lost in cyber space…never to be seen from again. So…sorry! You win some and you lose some.

I finished the day with this Trader Joe’s water and a hefty hunk of fudge that was trying to satisfy my chocolate craving.

IMG_3095 IMG_3096

I solemnly swear to take better pictures next week! And to eat more quinoa! As always thanks to Jenn from peasandcrayons for hosting this celebration of food.

Question of the day: When you are craving chocolate what satisfies your craving? For me it is a gooey chocolate brownie, or just some dark chocolate chips I always seem to have in the pantry.

~Alyssa

 

4 thoughts on “WIAW: Gilmore Girls Finale

  1. sweetsandbeets says:

    Congrats again on the wedding – I bet married life will be so exciting! 🙂 Looking forward to reading all about it.

    Ahhh you finished Gilmore Girls! I got distracted and left off somewhere in season 4, but I can’t wait to get back into it 🙂 although I’m going to be so sad when it’s over! haha.

  2. faithvandermolen says:

    It’s amazing how getting married changes the way we eat, isn’t it!! I’m also working my way through Gilmore Girls on Netflix. I’ve seen the finale a long time ago, but I honestly can’t remember what happens! I’m gonna have so much more free time once I finally finish:)

Leave a Reply

