Best Sidedish Ever

Good morning and Happy Tuesday! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Chris and I had a bit of a crazy weekend with a lot of driving but he did end up watching the Vikings game, and I did a lot of studying…it’s that time of the year. Here he is enjoying some bro-time on the long walk to the stadium.

IMG_2744

As the weather gets colder it is time to warm things up. I just need some warm good up in my life and what I have for you next definitely warms the heart and soul. Also it is officially squash season and do I have a recipe for you that is fiancé-approved and super cheesy…

squasher

Ingredients

Slightly Adapted from Real Simple
  • Spaghetti Squash
  • 15 oz Ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 2 large handfuls of spinach (2-4 cups)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (I used cheddar)
  • IMG_0270

    Instructions

    1.  Use leftover/precooked spaghetti squash OR cook spaghetti squash in oven for 40 minutes. Let squash cool and use a fork to scrape the “noodles” from the squash. For more complete instructions see here.

    photo 2

    2.  Run your knife through the spinach and roughly chop it. Then mince the garlic.

    3.Combine squash noodles with ricotta, egg, spinach, 1 minced garlic clove, nutmeg and salt & pepper. Mix well.

    4. Place cheesy mixture into an 8×8 pan and cover with shredded cheese.

    5. Bake in oven at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until the cheese is a wonderful golden brown and the ricotta is bubbling.

    6. Let rest for 5 minutes then dig in! I enjoyed it plain but I think it would also be great with some marinara on the side.

    IMG_0271Enjoy!

    Question of the day: Do you feel spaghetti squash is a perfectly good substitute for spaghetti? I obviously do, but my favorite part is usually the sauce and meatballs I put on it. This recipe let me taste the actual squash.

     

2 thoughts on “Best Sidedish Ever

  1. Laura says:

    I feel it is an AMAZING replacement for spaghetti! I love all kinds of squash, and do not care for pasta noodles… for me subbing spaghetti squash is a win win! 🙂 It sort of takes the taste of it’s surroundings, so it’s easy to make it extra delicious! I am so excited to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

