Pumpkin Run 2014

I had a blast this weekend, and I hope you did too! Here’s the quick recap. My mom came to visit on Thursday and we went shopping and out for dinner where we dined on some great cheeseburgers. I love me some mother daughter time, it was such a fun treat! Then on Friday we drove back up to Cloquet for the weekend. I loved not having to make the 2 hour commute by myself. I think I talked her ear off.

Once we made it back, Chris and I ate dinner with my parents and then I watched say yes to the dress on mute while he studied away for his big test. Then on Saturday while Chris took his test, I ran the 9th annual pumpkin run!

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 12.48.32 PM

I finished in a time of 23:07, my best time by almost a minute. I was 19th overall, the 4th female finisher and first in my age group (20-29). While that sounds suprer impressive (I think it does), keep in mind there were only 250 runners, so it wasn’t a huge race.

IMG_2657One of the best parts about the race is that the winners get a pumpkin! I am not a competitive runner, so I was very happily surprised with my time and the race was great.

IMG_2656

My people also raced. My dad finished in 25:52 and my mom walked it in an impressive 46 minutes! Here they are in action:

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 12.49.08 PM

IMG_2648 IMG_2647

This picture below, just makes me so happy, my parents are so supportive of Chris and me, and I’m going to miss my every other weekend visiting time, once Chris moves to Minneapolis  come the big day of December 27th. I will not miss all the driving though

IMG_2650

IMG_2658I hope you got outside and enjoyed this weekend.

Question of the day: What is the perfect distance for a race? I have only done one 5 miler a couple years ago and I almost died, but I think now that would be a great distance!

~Alyssa

 

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Run 2014

Leave a Reply

