Lumberjack Metamorphosis

So this weekend was just a great one. It was one of those were you look back and realize how grateful you are for the family and friends that surround you and bring so much love and joy into your life.

It all started on Friday, I drove back to Cloquet to see Chris (and our families) and I stuffed invitations while he studied….so many stickers.

IMG_0190

Then on Saturday we got up bright and early to drive to Chris’s hunting shack for “work weekend.” This was my first experience at the hunting shack and I was a little apprehensive about what all this working would look like (I’m a never-touched-a-gun type of girl). But before we get into that, on our journey north we stopped at a cute coffee shop and I had one of the best lattes in my life (pumpkin spice with half the pumpkin). With a side of a gluten-free strawberry shortcake muffin.

IMG_2604 So darn delicious.

We made it to the shack and were greeted by much of Chris’s family and a beautiful day!

IMG_0171        IMG_2608

Now to the working part, I chopped wood…

IMG_0186           IMG_0175

And transformed into a lumberjack

IMG_0188

Overall, it was such a fun day in the woods with Chris and his family. I even got to drive Chris’s brothers four wheeler and while it may not have been the smoothest ride, I didn’t hit any trees! I count that as a victory.

IMG_2612

Rolling into Sunday, it was the Fall Festival at our church so we feasted on eggs, sausage, and breakfast potatoes while chatting with my family and  listening to everyone else win our the raffle prizes. Oh well….there’s always next year!

I hope you all had a great weekend.

Question of the day: What’s your favorite fall outdoor activity? Personally, I love running  in the morning as it starts dipping into the 30’s! So brisk yet so wonderful!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Lumberjack Metamorphosis

  1. Laura says:

    Such a glorious weekend, glad you were able to enjoy the outdoors!! I also enjoy running in the moorings, and catching the sunrise! BUT my favorite outdoor activity in fall is crunching through the leaves, and having that amazing aroma of fall in the air while walking through the woods at my parent’s house! It is just so peaceful and delightful, with winding trails and wonderful views!! 🙂 My happy place!

  2. sweetsandbeets says:

    Aw, that looks so fun! it really is just the simple things in life 🙂 My favorite thing about fall is when the temperature in the air is crisp, yet not cold. Just a sweatshirt and jeans, sipping a pumpkin latte, crunching on the leaves. Best feeling! 🙂

Leave a Reply

