Vegetable Soup

Yet another week has come and gone, and yet another Monday greets us. And if you’re like me you enjoy making a big batch of something to tide you over throughout the week. There’s nothing better then that feeling when you go to bed and realize you don’t need to pack a lunch the next day. Ok maybe just the little things in life bring me a lot of joy. Either way, you must make this soup! It is a fall staple and great for the heart and soul.

Vegetable Soup

 

I was intimidated by soup for the longest time (which was crazy), because this recipe is simple, delicious, and reheats really well. Also the great thing about veggie soup is you can use whatever vegetables you have left in your fridge that need to be used up!

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1/2 cup of brown rice
  • large can of whole peeled tomatoes
  • low sodium stock of choice (I used chicken)
  • handful of fresh green beans
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 2 ears of corn, boiled with kernels cut off
  • salt and pepper

1. Heat a large soup pan on medium heat and add oil and in the onions. Let the onions sweat until they are translucent at this point add in the garlic. Let the garlic marinate the onions for a few before rounding out thmirepoix, which is just a fancy term for diced onion, carrot, and celery. I also added sweet potato, but you could substitute white potato or leave them out all together (it’s soup people!).

IMG_2415IMG_2416

2. Once the Mirepoix is starting to brown add in 1/2 cup of brown rice and let the rice absorb some of the delicious flavors. As the rice is starting to turn golden brown add in the tomatoes and stock. I like to remove the tomatoes and cut them into smaller chunks and then discard the extra tomato juice. Add a pinch of salt and pepper, to season along the way.

IMG_2417

3. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 40 minutes or until the rice is almost completely cooked and the potatoes are soft.

IMG_2419

4. Add in the zucchini, green beans, and corn in the last 5 minutes, so they don’t turn into mush! Salt and pepper to taste, and you’re done.

IMG_2438 IMG_2442

 

I hope you enjoyed the will power it took for me to use rice instead of quinoa!

~Alyssa

Vegetable SoupQuestion of the morning: What’s your favorite kind of soup? And does it change based on the season?  I love chili and butternut squash soup!

 

7 thoughts on “Vegetable Soup

  1. Laura says:

    mmmm looks great! I like butternut squash soup too! I usually like vegetable beef or beef barley soup! I’m not too much of a soup person, and have never made it… I don’t care for big tomatoes like that, is it acceptable to leave them out?? OR cut them into even tinier pieces? I think I will add red bell peppers too… I know cooking is supposed to be a no brainer, I usually over think it!

  2. sweetsandbeets says:

    Yum, that looks good! When it comes to soups and stews, I usually just throw a bunch of stuff in a pot or crock pot and hope for the best 🙂 lately I’ve been into lentil/veggie concoctions. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

