BEET the cold weather blues…

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

I had a wonderful weekend full of fall weather…let me tell you about it.

So this Sunday after the Vikings game, Chris came to view the apartment he will be moving into in January. He even moved in some Vikings knick knacks to make him feel more at home. So on Sunday night we made our first dinner together in the new apartment and it was glorious! We got to cook, eat, and pray together. I was loving it. On the menu: garlic turkey burgers, corn on the cob, grilled zucchini, and roasted cauliflower (all veggies from the farmer’s market). Delicious, it was a taste (pun-intended) of what life will be like in 4 short months.

IMG_2396

Backing up to Saturday, I went to the Farmer’s market in Cloquet and discovered BEETS! I had never really experimented with this food, but under the guidance of my mom’s friends I roasted them up and now I am obsessed! Here is the recipe for beets success.

1. Wrap the beets in aluminum foil.

IMG_2381

2. Roast in oven at 400° for 40 minutes.

3. Let cool and remove outer skin and EAT!

IMG_2384

So easy and so delicious. I could not stop popping them in my very purple mouth.IMG_2385

After the beets adventure, we had one of our last weddings of the year, before ours. I just can never get enough of weddings. There is something about all the love and happiness and hope for the future that just makes me adore them. Here is a wedding row selfie with Chris’s siblings before the ceremony started. It was a cool fall day, but the sun came out during the ceremony making it absolutely beautiful.

IMG_2394 IMG_2395

Looking forward…I will have internet tomorrow! Oh my goodness I have been waiting for this day. Hopefully everything goes smoothly.

~Alyssa

3 thoughts on “BEET the cold weather blues…

  1. Laura says:

    I tried roasting beets over the weekend, came out great! Super tasty and easy! Thankfully I didn’t drip or spill on anything, wow that color is vibrant!! ha ha

Leave a Reply

