Farmer’s Market

Let me tell you folks, fall has officially hit and embraced Minneapolis, and it is down right chilly out! But I have to say I am loving the crisp weather it makes me think that December 27th is right around the corner….

Anyway, going to a mega-school like the University of Minnesota does have it’s perks. Like having it’s very own farmer’s market on campus every Wednesday (which I always have every intention of meandering through until I get to campus and forget all about it). So yesterday I remembered and stopped by to got some Zestar apples. Now if you know anything about me, it’s that I can’t get enough of apples when they are in season! I seriously think an apple in fall, is my favorite food of all time. So when I scarfed down my first in-season, fresh, crisp, and sweet apple I was in heaven!

Fall-apple

So when everyone is going on and on about pumpkins (love them too), remember to give apples some love too!

Speaking of apple season, here is a recipe my grandma wanted to test out, that I gladly agreed to make after she supplied me with apples from her tree.

apple crisp

Old Fashioned Apple Crisp
Slightly Adapted from American Profile Brown Betty Recipe

10 small apples, peeled, sliced in 1/4-inch slices (or 6 large apples: Fuji, Gala, Delicious), about 2 pounds
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, divided
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup dark brown sugar, divided
6 ounces cranberry juice
2 tablespoons dried cranberries
1/4 cup water
2 slices Udi’s gluten-free bread
2 tablespoons chopped walnuts
1/4 cup quick-cooking oats
2 tablespoons butter

1. Preheat oven to 350 and spray 8×8 inch cooking spray.
2. Peel, core, and cut apples (worst and longest part of recipe).
IMG_0132
3. Combine apples, cranberry juice, water, half of the sugar, half of cinnamon, nutmeg, cranberries and vanilla extract in a medium saucepan. And simmer for 12 minutes until apples have softened. Pour softened apple mixture into greased pan.
IMG_0138
4. Place the 2 pieces of bread in food processor. And blend until bread crumb consistency.
IMG_0140
5. Mix bread crumbs, walnuts, oats, remaining sugar, cinnamon and butter in mixing bowl. Then sprinkle on top of apples.
6. Bake for 25 minutes or until top is starting to brown.
IMG_2316
Easy and delicious, Enjoy!
~Alyssa

 

2 thoughts on “Farmer’s Market

Leave a Reply

