Asian Coleslaw

HELLO! I don’t know why all-caps was needed, but it was. So before I get to this delicious coleslaw recipe, let me give you all a bit of news. Chris and I finally have an apartment for next year!!! WOOOO. The application process took longer than expected, but we are beyond excited. I will be living there and then Chris will move in in January after we are MARRIED (yay).

I have to admit that I may have gone a little crazy in Hobby Lobby buying decorations for our future home, but come on who doesn’t get a bit carried away in that store!

Now to the coleslaw. So at the farmers market, the cabbage always seems to call to me….and then fast forward a couple days and it’s still sitting in the refrigerator and I’m scratching my head at how to use it. I’ve tried roasting it, using it as a salad topper, and sautéing it. They were all delicious ways of preparing cabbage, well that’s what I thought, UNTIL, I tried this recipe.

Coleslaw

This coleslaw is light and crisp and packed with vegetables. Here’s what you need:

IMG_0042

Gingery-Peanutty Sauce:

1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup unseasoned rice vinegar
2 tablespoons gluten-free soy sauce
1 tablespoon peanut butter (I used Smuckers Natural Chunky PB)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger
2 large garlic cloves, minced

IMG_0037

The Heart of the Slaw:

1/2 medium red cabbage, chopped
2 cups prepared shredded carrots (5 or 6 medium carrots)
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced into bite-sized pieces
1 cup green onions, diced
1/2 cup chopped nut of your choice (I used almonds, peanuts would also be good, due to the peanutty sauce)

Now don’t be overwhelmed by the amount of ingredients, most of them you will have on hand.

1. Mix together the heart of the slaw in a large mixing bowl. I used a good processor and just chopped the carrots and almonds that way. But if you want this recipe to be super simple and fast you can always buy shredded carrots and almonds at the store.

IMG_0039

2. Mince the cloves of garlic and grate the fresh ginger.

3. In a bowl with an airtight lid mix together the ingredients for the sauce. And then shake, shake, shake!

4. Pour the sauce over the coleslaw and let it marinate for at least 30 minutes before serving.

IMG_0047

5. Enjoy all the vegetable goodness. It is so pretty, with so many colors. You will just love it.

IMG_2251~Alyssa

Now it’s your turn:

What’s your favorite thing to buy at the farmer’s market?     I love the fresh produce obviously, but garlic and eggs are probably what I love the most from the farmer’s market.

 

3 thoughts on “Asian Coleslaw

  1. Laura says:

    My favorite thing at the farmer’s market has got to be the carmel rolls! (ha I got your back Chris) … Truly though, I love buying zucchini, spinach, & different types of sweet peas! mmmmm

Leave a Reply

