Fun in Florida Part 1

This post comes from my sister, who has been living in Florida for about 4 years, pursuing her dream of saving manatees and living the dream working at Harry Potter land and Seaworld. Enjoy!

1393818_10101221826506873_1457620634_n

From the mouth of Sara: Now my wonderful sister has been begging me to write a guest-blog piece ever since she started her blog. I’ve been struggling with topics. I definitely can’t write about anything having to do with the kitchen (since I avoid that room like the plague!). So I felt like I didn’t have a lot to add to the food side of the blog. I’m also not getting married, so I felt like I couldn’t contribute much to that topic either. Lucky for me, she talks about exercise sometimes and, lucky for me, I live in a state that embraces odd forms of exercise that can be practiced all year round due to the gorgeous (in some eyes)weather of central FL!

My post this week is going to focus on the sport of Wallyball. I’ve played 3 times now and it is very fun! It’s like volleyball with training wheels! Or bowling with those lane bumper thingys. There’s a volleyball net set up in a racquetball room and YOU CAN PLAY OFF THE WALLS! Now it can be a little dangerous that first time if you––like me––are terrible at judging trajectories and have slow reflexes. I’m not confirming that this happened but I might have been hit in the face 3 times in my first 15 minutes of play because I was not expecting the wall ricochet and I have terrible hand-eye-face coordination. But once I got the hang of it, it was super fun! It took me a little longer to get the hang of spiking the ball because since the court is so small you either have to hit the ball straight down (with my lack of height and jumping skills not really possible for me) or spike the ball against one of the side walls so it will ricochet into the court. I kept hitting like I was in a regular volleyball court and my hits kept going out aka hitting the back wall.Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 10.43.32 PM

Now all of the rules of regular volleyball apply (lifts, nets, etc.) with the addition of the back wall being out and if the volleyball hits more than 1 wall in a row then that’s out too. They also have this weird rule where if the ball goes through the little space where the net is attached to the wall then it’s good. I’m a little skeptical if this is a rule accepted in all wallyball leagues or just mine. And just like in regular volleyball, I get claustrophic and prefer to play on teams of 4 or less. At the beginning of the night, it’s always 6 on 6 and as the night wears on and people start heading home, then I start enjoying play more and more. With the limited space afforded by a racquetball court, I feel like my sister would only enjoy playing with teams of 2 for this sport!

Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 10.43.46 PM

I have friends that play in both recreational and competitive leagues and play wallyball  4 times a week––it’s like an epidemic down here. And I definitely understand because it is too hot down here in the summer to do much of anything outside, let alone the rigors of beach volleyball. True story: I went to the beach and the volleyball players were wearing socks to protect their feet from the sand! Now this sport needs to catch on in Northern Minnesota! Perfect way to get some extra volleyball in during those winter months! Stay tuned for my next FL activity: Bioluminescent Kayaking!!

Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 10.45.34 PM

-Sara

4 thoughts on “Fun in Florida Part 1

  1. Laura says:

    Nice post Sara! Wallyball sounds very fun… sort of like anything goes too, so I think the quickness and randomness of the game would be good for my short attention span!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

