The happenings of July 12th 2014

Well hello there and happy Tuesday! This weekend was extra special because I had to work on Saturday….and it was my BIRTHDAY! I’m feeling old age creeping up. Well this weekend was full of a lot of great food, love, and cooking. Let me tell you what happened.

On Friday after work my mom and I went to the mall to kill some time before my second wedding dress fitting and I bought my bridesmaid shower dress! Surprisingly it is not white, but I looked high and low for a cute white dress before settling on this blue flower number from Younkers!

Screen Shot 2014-07-14 at 4.29.38 PM

Then we met up with Chris and my dad for dinner at the Duluth grill so I could have my favorite salmon burger! They also gave me a dessert for FREE thanks to my birthday.

IMG_0054

Then on Saturday Chris made me dinner for the FIRST TIME EVER! I was a bit apprehensive about this. But as soon as I walked in the door I was just so shocked at how involved this wonderful birthday meal. He made spinach and artichoke dip with raw vegetables for the appetizer.

IMG_0061

An awesome strawberry spinach salad and quinoa bean burgers for the main course. Of course there had to be quinoa in this meal!

IMG_0067 IMG_0065

He finished off the extravaganza with the best cake I’ve ever had! Homemade gluten-free carrot cake with cream cheese frosting! I will have to get his recipe, because people this is the best cake ever!

IMG_0079It was such a great night and watching him cook was awesome. I think he has been holding out on me because turns out he’s a pretty great chef!

IMG_0062

He is just so cute, I loved watching him cook.

IMG_0064

Either tomorrow or Thursday I will be reviewing the quinoa/black bean burger that he/we made, so stay tuned. We were both surprised how involved the burger recipe was.

Now a question for all of you:

What’s the best present you’ve ever gotten?

This dinner was just so thoughtful. He cooked all my favorite foods quinoa, strawberries, spinach, and TONS of veggies! I was in heaven.

~Alyssa

Leave a Reply

