So You Think You Can Cook: #1 Hummus

So here’s the first recipe recap!

I made roasted garlic hummus this week following this recipe:

Screen Shot 2014-06-15 at 3.44.05 PM

I followed the recipe exactly, which was surprisingly hard. I did not realize how often I kind of just throw caution to the wind and just do my own thing.

IMG_0001

So lets start at the beginning with the ingredients. Let me tell you I was already struggling with the recipe just because it was tough finding tahini! In case any of you are wondering SuperOne does carry it, in the health food section. I barely found it.

So I first roasted the garlic:

IMG_0003

I had no trouble cutting off the top and wrapping it.IMG_0004

While that was in the oven I squeezed the lemon and drained the chickpeas.

IMG_0005 IMG_0006 IMG_0009

After 45 minutes of roasting garlic your house smells pretty fantastic. And the garlic looks like this:

IMG_0008

The recipe said to let the garlic cool, but I was too impatient and ended up burning my fingers trying to squeeze the garlic out. But it actually came out quite easily and was pretty cool (needless to say Chris was jealous and if he was there probably would have proceeded to eat the whole head of garlic).

Now all I had to do was dump it all in a food processor and blend for like 6 minutes.

IMG_0010 IMG_0011

Now we don’t have an actual food processor we have a ninja blender type thing which is smaller than a food processor. I don’t know if the ninja is stronger or I just have a low threshold of creaminess, but I definitely did not need to blend if for that long.

Ease of following recipe: The recipe was very easy to follow and straight forward. I mean you can’t get much easier than dumping and whirling and really there was minimal prep work and cooking time. If you start roasting the garlic while you are preparing dinner, it takes like 2 seconds to throw everything in the food processor. The only down fall of the recipe is that I did have a hard time finding Tahini and now have a huge jar when the recipe only called for 4 tsp.

Overall impression: I had high expectations going into this recipe and I have to say I was a bit disappointed. I absolutely love hummus and I love garlic so I thought this recipe would be a no brainer. However I felt the hummus was overly lemon-y and I couldn’t even taste garlic. The recipe had good consistency but lacked the flavor burst I was longing for. Also, the recipe calls for 2 1/2 cups of chickpeas, which is not equivalent to number of cans. So I was left with some leftover chickpeas I don’t know what to do with. Will all that being said, I did love the fact that it made a large amount and got me hooked into the world of homemade hummus that will hopefully save me some money!

Go-to or keep looking: While I am enjoying my pot o’ hummus, I do have to say that this probably will not be my go-to hummus recipe and I will continue my search to find a recipe that I love.

Things I would change: Add some raw garlic to really intensify the flavor, decrease the lemon juice, and increase the cumin.

Well I hope this helps! If I find a new hummus recipe I will update ya’ll. Until then send me a new recipe you’d like me to test and I will review it on the blog (preferably one with lots of quinoa).

~Alyssa

4 thoughts on “So You Think You Can Cook: #1 Hummus

  1. Laura says:

    Yes, the flow is very nice! Thanks for sharing! A friend used roasted red peppers in his hummus and it was very delicious! I might have to borrow some tahini and try it out! 🙂 Also… toss your extra chick peas on your salad… mmm mmm they are yummy!

Leave a Reply

