Wheat-less Wednesday: Cereal Edition

It is time for this weeks Wheat-less Wednesday! Wow that is a lot of w’s (some would even say a whopping amount). If you came expecting Portland Part 2, I apologize, there are just so many pictures to sort through, but it will be up soon! Anyway this Wednesday is a bit bittersweet. You see yesterday was the last time I walked to campus from my current apartment, crossing over this bridge…..

photo 1

And my last spin class…..

photo

After my final tomorrow I will be immediately moving out and moving up (nothing like moving in and mooching off the parentals).

Anyway, now to the task at hand…cereal. When I am not making oatmeal for breakfast, it is nice to have cereal on hand for a quick and nutritious start to the day. Gluten-free cereal is hard to come by, except for rice krispies and corn chex that have a lot of sugar and about zero fiber or sustenance to keep me full to lunch time. So instead I have turned to Erewhon Supergrains. photo 2

And buckwheat and hemp is my favorite flavor, it may not sound enticing but trust me it’s delicious.

photo 3

One cup comes in around 220 calories and contains 5 grams of fiber and only 6 grams of sugar and not to mention it tastes great. It has a great nutty-grain flavor when paired with yogurt or milk and berries makes for a great breakfast.

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 10.12.31 PM

And the ingredients: Organic Whole Buckwheat Groats, Organic Brown Rice, Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Organic Hemp Seed, Organic Maple Syrup, Sea Salt.

Unfortunately I believe they may only be available at Whole Foods which is fairly limiting, but definitely the best gf cereal that I have found. I highly recommend it!

~Alyssa

Leave a Reply

