Tex-Mex Stuffed Pepper

So last night I was in need of a quick and easy dinner, nutritious is kind of a given. So I whipped up some stuffed peppers that will hopefully spark some creative juices in you to make a tex-mex inspired dish! It’s not exactly a recipe, but will hopefully inspire you to get into the kitchen during this upcoming APRIL blizzard.

I started off with half a white onion and roughly chopped it. Then sautéed the onions in a generous pat of butter. Wait until the onions become translucent and start smelling terrific.

*Before chopping the onion I plopped a sweet potato in the oven at 400° for 30 minutes, or until it becomes soft when poked with a fork.

photo 1 photo 2

Chop two cloves of garlic, I like big chunks but if you would rather use a garlic press or a garlic grater it is all personal preference.

I had to make the garlic look extra delicious because Chris absolutely loves garlic. Random fact: he can even eat them raw and enjoys it. And in general: don’t mind my old school stove top or lime green cutting board, I am working with what I have!

photo 3 photo 4

Add garlic and mushrooms to the onion mix and let the vegetables all mingle and the flavor of the garlic soak in. I also added some corn which brings a pop of color, and who doesn’t love corn?

photo 5

For the stuffing of the pepper: add 1/2 cup cooked quinoa ( click here for how to cook quinoa), 1/2-1 cup of mushroom/onion/corn mix, 1/2 of a roasted and mashed sweet potato, handful of cheese,  and 1/4 cup of black beans.

photo 2 photo 3

Stir together the mixture and add enough salsa to keep everything together (about 1/4 cup) and stuff the mixture it into two halves of a green pepper. Top both green pepper halves with more cheese and bake! I like my peppers to be soft but not mushy, so I do not pre-cook my peppers. I cooked the stuffed peppers for 30 minutes at 325° with tinfoil and then 5 minutes without tinfoil for the cheese to brown up and get nice and bubbly.

photo 4photo 5_2

 

I topped my stuffed pepper with plain greek yogurt and a little more salsa and then devoured it.

Remember we can always use more faith, hope & quinoa in our lives!

~Alyssa

 

2 thoughts on “Tex-Mex Stuffed Pepper

  1. Laura says:

    Holy moly, that looks amazing!! I like your recipe and love love love stuffed peppers, but only eat them when our family makes them for special occasions!! We usually do my grandmother’s recipe with rice and beef or lamb… but this sounds very fun and easy for me to try in a small batch sometime!! Love it!! Thanks Alyssa and stay one step ahead of the storm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

