Wheat-less Wednesday: Quinoa edition

Happy Wednesday! I’m sure you are all as excited about today as I am….because it’s quinoa time! Many people have asked me “what the heck is quinoa?” So I’m hoping this post kills 2 birds with one stone, so to speak.

Being gluten-free it is important to incorporate the grain family in my diet. To do this, I turn to quinoa. Quinoa is actually a seed from the goosefoot plant (Yum), and is native to the Andes Mountains.

Nutrition plug: one of the great things about quinoa is that it is a complete protein. This means that it has all of the amino acids, and in the right balance, that our body requires to function. If you’re like me and don’t eat a lot of meat, than quinoa is a great protein substitute.

Quinoa1

 

This is my favorite brand of quinoa and comes pre washed! Best thing ever. It may look like a small amount, but remember a little quinoa goes a long way…

I usually make a pot-O-quinoa in the beginning of the week, so I can throw it on salads, use it as the base for stir fry, or make mediterranean-ish salads like the one below. Making quinoa is the best, it will just make you happy it’s so easy. All you do is put 1 part quinoa** to 2 parts water into a sauce pan (I usually do one cup quinoa to 2 cups water for the whole week). Then I put the cover on the pan, wait for the quinoa-water mixture to come to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 12 minutes (you don’t stir it or anything). After all the water is absorbed let the quinoa “rest” for 5 minutes then fluff with a fork. Boom, you now have quinoa.

** make sure you wash the quinoa before cooking, or buy pre-washed

photo 1

This is a great idea for a quick and easy lunch. Mix quinoa, beans, green onion, black beans, feta cheese, and cucumbers for your base. For a simple dressing drizzle olive oil, lime juice, and a touch of italian dressing. Don’t forget the pepper, stir it up and you’re ready to go.

photo 2 photo 3

 

Have a great rest of your Wednesday and go make some quinoa!

Alyssa

 

3 thoughts on “Wheat-less Wednesday: Quinoa edition

  1. Chris says:

    So much quinoa! I didn’t know all these fun little facts. I want to learn more about hemp too! (for real though)

Leave a Reply

